Charrly Learning Levels

Free Teacher Trial

Learning Levels from the CEFR

The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) is an internationally recognised standard for language learning. We at Charrly use this standard to define a level stage in the development of a person’s language ability. The stages are divided into 6 basic parts - from A1 (Beginner Level) through to C2 (Most Advanced Level). The standard has been produced for learners of a second language (a native language being the first). Each CEFR Level builds on the one before it to define a clear path at every stage until the most senior Level of C2 which is comparable to near native fluency level.

Charrly uses CEFR levels

All of the different languages at Charrly that we offer follow the CEFR levels. Knowing your present CEFR level allows you to select the correct language course for you.
If you do not know your level, then please take our free language CEFR level test here.

CEFR Language Levels Viewer



I can understand TV and films without much effort and can formulate ideas and opinions with precision.
I can understand extended speech when it is not clearly structured and when relationships are only implied and not signalled explicitly. I understand TV and films without effort.

I can understand long and complex factual and literary texts, appreciating distinctions of style. I can understand specialised articles and longer technical instructions.

I can express myself fluently and spontaneously without much obvious searching for expressions. I can use language flexibly and effectively for social and professional purposes.

I can present clear, detailed descriptions of complex subjects integrating sub-themes, developing particular points and rounding off with an appropriate conclusion.

Step into the future of language learning. Learn English online now virtually anywhere with charrly’s real-time online learning language platform.


© Copyright 2022 Charrly - All Rights Reserved